U2 ZooTv Hampton March 7, 1992 – my musical journey begins

MyMusicalJourneyI was not allowed to go to concerts until I graduated high school. I was almost 15 when U2 toured in support of The Joshua Tree, so I missed that tour. My musical journey on the road with U2 started in Hampton, Virginia on Saturday March 7, 1992. It was my first U2 show and the fifth of the ZooTv Tour. I was 19 years old. On the morning of March 7th, my best friend Cindy and I drove four hours south from Ellicott City, MD to Hampton, VA. Back in those days, there was no need to get to the city of a concert a day early because there was no general admission – we had actual assigned seats on the floor. We checked into our hotel and immediately walked across the street to the 1img_82891Hampton Coliseum, even though it was hours before the concert was to start. We saw a small circle of people with a big microphone hovering over them. As we got closer, we realized Bono was in the middle of that circle! I didn’t speak with him, but got close enough to take pictures and to hear what he was saying to everyone else. For my first U2 show, I was seated in the fourth row in front of The Edge. Bruce Hornsby and Phil Joanou walked in from behind the stage and passed by us on their way to the soundboard. The Pixies opened, and I did not like them at all. But then again, I just wanted to hear U2. I had waited five years since the release of The Joshua Tree to see them in concert! Three days later I drove two hours up to Philadelphia for my second U2 show. That time I hid in the bathroom when the Pixies played.